Ajinkya Rahane called back after being given out obstructing the field in Ranji Trophy match against Assam

0
30
Ajinkya Rahane called back after being given out obstructing the field in Ranji Trophy match against Assam


Image Source : PTI Ajinkya Rahane throughout Ranji Trophy match in Mumbai in 2023

The veteran Mumbai batter Ajikya Rahane survived his profession’s first-ever field obstruction dismissal throughout the Ranji Trophy 2024 match against Assam on Friday. Rahane was given out obstructing the field simply earlier than the tea break at Mumbai’s Sharad Pawar Cricket Academy however the cricketer walked out to bat in the third session.

After bowling out Assam on simply 84 runs, the in-form Mumbai aspect additionally witnessed a top-order collapse. But a 50-run stand between Ajinkya Rahane and Shivam Dube dragged Mumbai from 60/4 to a difficult complete at the finish of Day 1’s play.

The incident occurred in the twenty fifth over when Rahane was batting on 18 and performed debutant Dibakar Johri to mid-on for a fast single. But Dube despatched back his group captain who wanted a full dive reaching back to the crease. Rahane was additionally hit by Denish Das’ throw to which Assam gamers appealed for obstruction the field dismissal.

The on-field umpire dominated out in his resolution after which instantly called for a tea break. But Rahane walked out to bat as Assam gamers dramatically withdrew their attraction throughout the tea break. Rahane was not in a position to hit massive as he scored 22 runs off 69 balls earlier than getting bowled out by Johri.

After the day’s play, Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur revealed that the Assam coach visited his group’s dressing room to apologise to Rahane and withdrew their attraction. Shardul added that the video confirmed his captain working in a straight line, inside cricket guidelines. Shardul additionally revealed that Rahane was reluctant to go back to bat because of his ‘ethics’ however his teammates satisfied him to do it for a group.

“We were playing the video and all we saw was he turned and he was running in a straight line,” Thakur mentioned after the day’s play. “So at no level he modified his route. The solely route that was modified was when he took that flip and after that he did not change his route the ball and he wasn’t attempting to hinder the field. But sure umpires felt that he may very well be given out since the throw was geared toward the stumps however I feel the Assam coach additionally noticed the video and he did not really feel Rahane had performed it purposely and obstructed the throw.

“They wanted to withdraw the appeal and since it was tea time, they couldn’t convey it immediately but their coach walked up to us and he said, ‘we apologise for the appeal because it was in the heat of the moment and we want to withdraw the appeal.’ He conveyed the same thing to the umpires also and probably it was mutually agreed that Rahane would go on to bat. But Ajinkya was not keen on going back again because he said once he’s given out, it’s out. But we convinced him that if it’s not out then you can go and bat again and if you do that, it’ll be for the team. His ethics didn’t allow him to do that but for the team it was needed that he goes back again and bats.”

Meanwhile, in-form Shivam Dube recorded his second century of the season by smashing 101* off simply 95 balls to assist Mumbai put up 217/6 on Day 1, stretching the result in 133 runs. 





Source hyperlink